I was a huge screamo fan in high school, but for the past while I've mostly eschewed really aggressive music. I "get" why things like brostep and metalcore appeal to people, but I've always kept a skeptical distance from the vanity machismo and token aggression that people try to project via that music. So it's a little bit weird to me that I like Death Grips so much; they're loud, angry and abrasive as fuck. But they're more than that, which is why I think it works.
Besides just being loud, Death Grips is weird: their production is thick, disorienting and laden with glitchy sounds, and they've somehow managed to revive rap-rock without it being douchey. If chillwave is a hazy escapist dream, Death Grips is the sharp sober awakening from that. And unlike Skrillex or (i.e.) Killswitch Engage, they're pissed off with a social purpose: "Klink" is a FTP anthem, with lines like "whatcha gonnna do when they come for you? \ A gang of hatin' pigs! \ What have they ever really done for you? \ Ain't never done shiiit!" Death Grips combine power and frenzy with a focus that demands attention, and repeat listens.
LORD OF THE GAME
ReplyDelete